Christmas at our house means Thumbprint Cookies!  My mom taught me how to make them growing up, and now my children and I bake them every year.  They are a family favorite, and I am told that they are Santa’s cookie of choice.  We try to make them early in the season, but they are usually gone within 24 hours.  Another double batch is often required, specially if we run out before Christmas Eve.  I learned my lesson a few years ago, that I always needed to hold out a few for Santa.  It was about 10pm on Christmas Eve, and I was exhausted.  I dropped to the couch for a few minutes to rest when my son came in asking where Santa’s Thumbprint Cookies were.  I told him Santa might have to have some crackers with his milk this year.  My son whined, “But it’s TRADITION!”  So, I sent him to bed with a promise to bake fresh thumbprints so Santa could have his favorite cookie!  (I wrote this piece for EvaMag in December of 2007).

After I wrote this, my son informed me that we never left Santa milk…..he got a Coke (the real one) with his cookies……my memory may not be so good but I never forget to bake the cookies.  I spent this afternoon baking and adding a new twist to the cookies this year and a friend suggested that I blog about it…..so here it is!

Thumbprint Cookies:

Combine:

1/2 cup butter

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup white sugar

1 egg white

1 tea. vanilla

2 cups sifted flour

Pinch off small bits of dough and roll them in balls, place on cookie sheet and put your thumb in the middle of each and press to make an intent. (Thus the name THUMBPRINT…although, most of the time I use my finger not my thumb).  Bake on 375 degrees until done.  I like to under cook mine just a little…..not too brown.

Move the cookies to a cooling rack and cool completely before icing.

Icing

Blend:

1/4 cup soft butter

1 tea vanilla

2 cups confectionary sugar

2 T of milk

Food color of your choice

Fill each “thumbprint” with icing and watch them disappear!!!

This year I rolled the dough in Peppermint Flavored Sugar to add an extra holiday touch.  I think they were a success!!!